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[ ] [ ] ] 

VIRGINIA DEPARTMENT OF WILDLIFE RESOURCES 

LICENSED SHOOTING PRESERVE APPLICATION 

(Under Authority of § 29.1-514, § 29.1-544, and §§ 29.1-600 through 612 of the Code of Virginia; 4 VAC 15-40-260 

of the Virginia Administrative Code); For Permit Period July 1 through June 30 (or part thereof) 

Note: The applicant should understand that they must comply with all requirements of the permit conditions 

as well as those in the attached Licensed Shooting Preserve Checklist. The applicant should also understand 

that they may be inspected by Department personnel (including Conservation Police Officers) at any time 

during normal business hours and that if found not to be compliant then their facility may be closed until they 

gain compliance. The applicant should understand that non-compliance could result in administrative or law 

enforcement action. 

 
(Please PRINT or TYPE all information) Previous VDWR Permit #   

 

(Check One)  New Renewal  Date    
 

(Check One)  Public/Commercial____________        Private (Invited guests only)    
 

I wish to hold and hunt the following pen-reared species: (Check species desired) 

 

    Quail     Chukar                 Pheasant     Hungarian Partridge      Mallard (Tower Shoot Only) 

 
  Mr. Mrs. Ms. Miss. Name of Applicant: _____________________________________________ 

 

Mailing Address:   _______ 
 

    Home Phone: ( )   ________ 
City State Zip 

 
Date of Birth:  Last 4 of SSN:    Last 4 of Driver’s Lic#:    _______ 

 

Email Address: ______________________________________________________________________________   
 

Name of Shooting Preserve:   ________ 
 

Mailing Address:   ________ 
 

   Business Phone: ( )   _________ 
City State Zip 

 

 

Location: in   _ 

(Highway, direction, distance to nearest town)  (County) 

SIZE OF SHOOTING PRESERVE (acres)   _________ 

(Area must have a minimum of 100 acres) 

NON-REFUNDABLE APPLICATION FEE: 

PUBLIC/COMMERCIAL …..................................................................... $50.00 

PRIVATE (invited guests only) 

a) 100-300 acres ..............................................................…….. $ .50 per acre 

b) For each additional acre over 300 acres ......…..........……. $2.00 per acre   
   

 



 

7/2/2024 

  

 

Check should be made payable to: TREASURER OF VIRGINIA - Signed application, map/sketch (if applicable), 

and non-refundable application fee (check) mailed to: Virginia Department of Wildlife Resources, Permits 

Section, P. O. Box 3337, Henrico, Virginia 23228. (804-367-6913) 

 

1) All new applications, or renewals having modified acreage, must include a map, or sketch, of the Shooting Preserve 

area, showing boundaries and acreage of the Preserve area. The map shall include at least one (1) of the following: 

a) Topographic map with preserve’s boundary drawn in and including a scale bar. 

b) Aerial imagery with roads labeled, preserve’s boundary drawn in and including a scale bar. 

c) Parcel map with roads labeled, preserve’s boundary drawn in and including a scale bar.  

d) Where the preserve is using lands owned by other than the applicant, the application, 

 including renewals, must include either (i) a copy of the lease or other agreement 

                         demonstrating that the preserve has permission to use that land for the preserve or 

                         (ii) an affidavit stating that the preserve has permission to use that land for the 

                         preserve.  

Maps can be obtained from: 

http://maps.google.com/ http://www.bing.com/maps/ 

http://vafwis.org/fwis/?Title=VaFWIS+Geographic+Search+By+Map&vUT=Visitor Local or 

County Web Sites 

County Tax Assessors 

 

2) To propagate pen-raised birds on your Shooting Preserve, a Propagation Permit for $12.50 is required, in addition to a 

Shooting Preserve permit, and must be obtained prior to the propagation of any birds listed on the Shooting Preserve 

license. (http://www.dwr.virginia.gov/forms-download/PERM/PERM-014.pdf) 

 

3) Prior to obtaining a (new or a renewal) license from the Board to operate a commercially operated controlled shooting 

area, an applicant shall (a) notify adjoining landowners of the proposed use and (b) obtain approval from the governing 

body of the county, city or town that such activity is permitted under existing ordinances (§ 29.1-514). This requirement 

does not apply to private shooting preserves, or to commercial preserves first permitted before July 1, 1994. 

 

I have notified my adjoining landowners and have obtained approval from my county, city, or town governing body in 

accordance with the law stated in the preceding paragraph: Yes No 
 

By my signature below, I hereby certify that all entries made on this application are true and complete and my shooting 

preserve is compliant with all permit conditions and checklist requirements. I understand and agree that any falsification or 

misrepresentation of information herein, regardless of time of discovery, may result in denial or revocation of this permit. I 

understand and acknowledge that the preserve may be inspected by Department personnel (including Conservation Police 

Officers) at any time during normal business hours and that if found not to be compliant then the preserve may be closed until 

compliance is obtained. I understand and acknowledge that the failure to comply with Licensed Shooting Preserve permit 

conditions and requirements may result in suspension or revocation of the Licensed Shooting Preserve Permit and/or law 

enforcement action.  

 

Note: VDWR must be notified within 30 days of any changes in this application. 

 
Applicant's Signature: Date:    

TYPED SIGNATURE IS AUTHORIZED AND BINDING PER CODE OF VIRGINIA §59.1, CHAPTER 42.1, ET SEQ. 

 
 

http://maps.google.com/
http://www.bing.com/maps/
http://vafwis.org/fwis/?Title=VaFWIS%2BGeographic%2BSearch%2BBy%2BMap&amp;amp%3BvUT=Visitor
http://www.dwr.virginia.gov/forms-download/PERM/PERM-014.pdf
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VIRGINIA DEPARTMENT OF WILDLIFE RESOURCES 

Licensed Shooting Preserve Check List 

 
Name of Applicant Previous VDWR Permit #   

 

Name of Shooting Preserve    

 

 
 

1. Signs designating the area as a “Licensed Shooting Preserve” are placed not more than 50 yards apart, along all boundaries. 

 
2. To propagate pen-raised birds on a Shooting Preserve: a Propagation Permit for $12.50 must be obtained prior to the 

propagation of any birds listed on the Shooting Preserve License. The Propagation Permit is required in addition to the 

Shooting Preserve License. 

 
3. Preserve operator must understand hunting license requirements, (29.1-304 and 29.1-300 of the Code of Virginia), including 

blaze orange requirements. 

 

4. Tags or bands for shooting preserve birds should include a preserve number and serial numbers. 

 
5. Hunter Register includes places to record: a) Hunter’s name (successful or not), Address, Hunting license number, b) Date 

hunted, c) Number, species and tag/band number for game taken, d) Records retained for previous 2 years (if applicable). 

 

6. Preserve operator must complete and return the Shooting Preserve Annual Report to VDWR Permits Section by May 30
th, 

each year that summarizes the total number of individuals hunting. 

 
7. The preserve must have a minimum of one hundred (100) acres and said area must consist of a single tract, or contiguous tracts of 

land. 

 
8. Prior to obtaining a (new or renewal) license from VDWR to operate a commercially operated shooting preserve an applicant 

shall (a) notify adjoining landowners of the proposed use and (b) obtain approval from the governing body of the county, 

city or town that such activity is permitted under existing ordinances (§29.1-514 of the Code of Virginia). This requirement 

does not apply to private shooting preserves, or to commercial preserves first permitted before, or applied for before, July 1, 

1993. 

 
9. The preserve operator may sell surplus authorized birds for food, provided that all birds are packaged individually, and all 

packages clearly identify the contents and the name and address of the operator, or they may be sold alive to other authorized 

permittees, or they may sell the same to individuals for their personal use within 48 hrs. A complete record of sale shall be 

maintained for each such disposition. 

 
10. There shall be no Department imposed daily bag limit on game birds. 

 

 
I have read and understand the permit conditions outlined above. 

 

 
 

Applicant Signature Date 
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VIRGINIA DEPARTMENT OF WILDLIFE RESOURCES 

     SHOOTING PRESERVE PERMIT CONDITIONS 

 

I. GENERAL PROVISIONS APPLICABLE TO ALL SHOOTING PRESERVES 
 

1) RECORDS/REPORTS: The permittee is responsible for keeping a register of the names, addresses, and 

hunting license numbers of all hunters (successful or not), the date(s) hunted, the number of each species taken, 

and the numbers of the tags, or bands, placed on the game. Such records shall be retained for at least two (2) 

years. Records will be open to inspection by authorized Department personnel at any reasonable time. The 

permittee shall be responsible for providing annually, to the Virginia Department of Wildlife Resources, no later 

than thirty (30) days following the end of the shooting preserve season, a report summarizing the total number of 

individuals hunting, a total of each species released, and a total of each species taken, on a form provided by the 

Department. 

 
2) ACREAGE: The area shall have a minimum of one hundred (100) acres and said area must consist of a 

single tract, or contiguous tracts of land, as shown on the application. There shall be no maximum size. 

Multiple shooting preserves, operated by the same permittee, shall not be contiguous with each other. The 

permittee shall own or have the area under lease. 

 
3) AREA IDENTIFICATION: Signs designating the area as a "Licensed Shooting Preserve" must be placed 

not more than fifty (50) yards apart, along all boundaries. 

 
4) HUNTERS: All persons hunting, or assisting in the hunting, on the Preserve shall have a valid resident, or 

nonresident, Virginia hunting license. A license for nonresidents to hunt exclusively on Shooting Preserves is 

available for $22.00 plus $1.00 agent issuance fee. All hunting of any game, other than the pen-raised species 

authorized, shall conform to the general season bag limits, and licensing requirements of the species concerned. 

All hunters must comply with the blaze orange requirements set into law via the Code of Virginia. 

 
5) TAGGING/TRANSPORTING BIRDS: The permittee shall be responsible for affixing a serially-numbered 

tag, or band, bearing the Shooting Preserve number to every bird, or package of birds, taken within the regulated 

area. Permittee must give notice to each person transporting game that the bands, or tags, must remain with the 

game until it is finally prepared for consumption, and that shot game may be disposed of only by gift and not 

sold, traded, or bartered. (Note: Suitable tags or bands may be obtained from National Band and Tag Company, 

P. O. Box 72430, 721 York Street, Newport, Kentucky 41702-0430, 859-261-2035, Fax: 800-261-8247.) 

 

6) SURPLUS BIRDS: The permittee may sell surplus authorized birds for food, provided that all birds are 

packaged individually, and all packages shall bear labels clearly identifying the contents, and the name and 

address of the licensee, or they may be sold live to other authorized permittees, or they may sell the same to 

individuals for their personal use within 48 hours. A complete record of the sale shall be maintained for each 

such disposition. 

 
7) RECOVERY OF BIRDS: The permittee is authorized to recover pen-reared birds within the confines of 

the regulated Shooting Preserve area, or on other property owned or leased by the permittee, contiguous to the 

Preserve. 

 

8) SHOT REQUIREMENTS: Non-toxic shot is required for the taking of waterfowl on shooting preserves. 
 

9) FACILITIES: Birds and animals raised under a permit for propagation purposes must be confined in a 

sanitary escape-proof enclosure. Such enclosure shall be open to inspection by representatives of the 

Department at all times (4 VAC 15-290-50, Virginia Administrative Code).
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10) SUNDAY HUNTING: It shall be unlawful to hunt pen-raised game birds on Sunday on 

controlled shooting areas in any county or city which prohibits Sunday operation by ordinance. 

 
11) SHOOTING PRESERVES SEASON DATES AND BAG LIMITS: 

a) General Shooting Preserve Season: September 1 through April 30 

b) Bag Limit: There shall be no Department imposed daily bag limit on game birds during the general 

shooting preserve season. 

c) Shooting Preserve Bird Dog Training Season: May 1 through August 31. All species allowed during 

the general shooting preserve season may be released and taken during the bird dog training season. 

Unless otherwise listed below, all provisions of this permit apply to the bird dog training season. 

i. All pen-raised quail released during the shooting preserve bird dog training season shall be 

marked with a serially numbered tag, or leg band, prior to release. 

ii. No more than five (5) upland game birds or mallards (in aggregate) may be released and 

shot per bird dog being trained per day.  

 

II. MALLARD TOWER SHOOT PROVISIONS 

Definition of a Mallard Tower Shoot: A tower shoot for captive-reared Mallard (Anas platyrhynchos) 

ducks is an activity on a licensed shooting preserve where captive-reared Mallard ducks are released from 

a designated station and are shot on the preserve the same day of the release. Birds shall not remain 

free-ranging in the environment. 

 
Conditions: 

a) The tower shoot for mallard ducks must be confined to the preserve boundaries. 

b) All ducks must be held in captivity in an escape-proof enclosure until released for shooting. Ducks 

cannot be free-ranging. All ducks, live and dead, must be retrieved the day of the release. 

c) All ducks must be right hind toe clipped. 

d) Ducks cannot be hunted over bait. 

e) Ducks cannot be used as live decoys. 

f) The permittee shall immediately notify the Department of any duck diseases or mortalities that 

occur and this should be done prior to the ducks being released. N otification should be sent 

to Collectionpermits@dwr.virginia.gov or leave a message after hours at 804-367-5415. The 

notification must include contact information for the breeder from where the ducks were 

purchased. 

g) A written log must be kept daily with hunter names, address, hunting license number, date hunted, 

number taken, species and tag/band number for game taken. All records must be retained for the 

previous two (2) years. 

h) A written record of the number of Mallard ducks released, release dates and daily harvest must be 

reported to the VDWR via the report form by May 30
th 

each year. 

 

III. GENERAL PROVISIONS APPLICABLE TO ALL PERMITS 
 

A. Other Laws and Regulations: This permit does not absolve the permittee of any responsibilities or 

conditions of any other federal, state, or local laws and regulations. 

 
B. Compliance/Violation/Revocation 

1. 4 VAC 15-290-130 of the Virginia Administrative Code requires that a permit holder shall comply 

with all terms and conditions of any permit issued by the Department of Wildlife Resources 

pursuant to Title 29.1 of the Code of Virginia and the regulations of the board pertaining to hunting, 

mailto:Collectionpermits@dwr.virginia.gov


 

7/2/2024 

fishing, trapping, attempting to take, possession, sale, offering for sale, transporting or causing to 

be transported, importing or exporting, propagating, exhibiting, and rehabilitating of any wild bird, 

wild animal or fish. The penalty for violation of this section is a Class 3 misdemeanor unless 

another penalty is specified. Further, any violation of state or federal wildlife laws related to the 

permitted activities by the permittee, his/her agents or employees, or guests will constitute a 

violation of the conditions of the permit. 

 

2. As provided by 4 VAC 15-30-5 of the Virginia Administrative Code, failure to comply with the 

provisions of a permit may result in the revocation or suspension of the permit for a period up to 

but not to exceed five (5) years. Any person whose permit is revoked, or suspended may appeal 

that decision in writing, to the Executive Director, V i r g i n i a  Department of Wildlife 

Resources, P. O. Box 3337, Henrico, VA 23228. 

 
C. RENEWALS: 4 VAC 15-30-7 of the Virginia Administrative Code states that provided that the issuance 

of a permit renewal has been delayed past the expiration date of the permittee’s previous permit at no fault 

of the applicant, the permittee may continue the specific activities authorized by the expired permit until the 

Department has acted on such person’s application for renewal. To qualify for this allowance, applicants 

must submit a completed renewal application to the Department at least thirty (30) days prior to the 

expiration date of the permit. The Department may deny renewal of a permit to any applicant who fails to 

meet the issuance criteria set forth by the Department.  



 

7/2/2024 

VIRGINIA DEPARTMENT OF WILDLIFE RESOURCES 

SHOOTING PRESERVE ANNUAL REPORT 

 

According to Rule 2 of the GENERAL PROVISIONS APPLICABLE TO ALL SHOOTING PRESERVES, you 

must complete and return the following Annual Report to: Virginia Department of Wildlife Resources, Permits 

Section, P. O. Box 3337, Henrico, Virginia 23228, by MAY 30th. 

 

Previous Permit Number:     __ 
 

Name of Preserve   
 

Shooting Preserve Number County Acres   
 

Telephone ( )    
 

Type of Shooting Preserve: [ ] Public [ ] Private 

 
Name of Applicant   

(Must be owner, lessee, or corporation) 

 

Total Number of Hunters/Clients   

 

Authorized Species Number Released  Number Shot 

 

Quail        

 

Pheasant        

 

Chukar        

 

Hungarian Partridge        

 

Mallard Duck        

 

By my signature below, I hereby certify that all entries made on this report are true and complete. I understand 

and agree that any falsification or misrepresentation of information herein, regardless of time of discovery, may 

result in denial or revocation of this permit. Failure to comply with the licensed shooting preserve permit 

conditions and requirements may result in suspension or revocation of licensed shooting preserve permit. 

VDWR must be notified within thirty (30) days of any changes in this application. 

 
Applicant's Signature: Date:    

 

Print Name:    
 

Email Address: _____________________________________________    
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