VIRGINIA DEPARTMENT OF WILDLIFE RESOURCES
APPLICATION FOR PERMIT TO POSSESS, PROPAGATE, BUY AND SELL LARGEMOUTH BASS
(BLACK BASS) AND OTHER MEMBERS OF THE SUNFISH FAMILY IN VIRGINIA (24 — SUNF)
(Under Authority of § 29.1-412, and 417 of the Code of Virginia, and 4 VAC 15-360 of the Virginia
Administrative Code)
Permit Period is January 1% through December 31 (or part thereof)

Non-refundable Application Fee: $50.00

Permit (Check One): NEW RENEWAL Previous VDWR Permit #.

Mr. Mrs. Ms. Miss.

Name of Applicant

Address

County

City State Zip

Phone Number Email

Date of Birth Last four of SSN Last 4 of Drivers’ Lic#

Business Name

Business
Address

City State Zip County

Phone Number

Name and location (€911 address-no P.O. Box) of facility if different from above, where animal(s) will be sold:

County

Type of business:

SN | ] Largemouth bass (black bass) and other members of the sunfish family catch-out pond ($50.00)
[Fishing license not required]. Permit required only if fish are being sold by weight (e.g. by the pound)
Annual Report Required

9/29/2020



The following captive-bred species may be held and sold by SN for human consumption and for use in catch-out
onds.
| Largemouth bass (black bass) and other members of the sunfish family (List specific species with Common

Name & Scientific Name). *Selling live fish for stocking requires a Hold and Sell Certain Fish, Snakes, Snapping
Turtles and Hellgrammites for Sale Permit.

Common Name Scientific Name

Applicant signature Date

By my signature above, I hereby certify that all entries made on this application are true and complete, and I agree
and understand that any falsification of information herein, regardless of time of discovery, may result in denial

or revocation of my permit. TYPED SIGNATURE IS AUTHORIZED AND BINDING PER CODE OF
VIRGINIA §59.1, CHAPTER 42.1, ET SEQ.

Make non-refundable application fee check payable to: Treasurer of Virginia and return to:
Virginia Department of Wildlife Resources, Permits Section, P. O. Box 3337, Henrico, VA 23228

9/29/2020



VIRGINIA DEPARTMENT OF WILDLIFE RESOURCES
PERMIT TO POSSESS, PROPAGATE, BUY AND SELL LARGEMOUTH BASS (BLACK BASS) AND

OTHER MEMBERS OF THE SUNFISH FAMILY IN VIRGINIA

PERMIT CONDITIONS

As provided for in § 29.1-412 and 417 of the Code of Virginia, and 4 VAC 15-360 of the Virginia Administrative
Code, the permit shall be required by any person or establishment which sells for the specified purposes any of
the species listed below in subsection "A" (catch-out ponds, or for human consumption).

A. Permitted Species:
1. Game fish (sunfish)

Gamefish can only be held and sold for stocking private ponds (without Department stocking
authorization per 4 VAC 15-320-60 of the Virginia Administrative Code) with the exception of
trout (brown trout, brook trout, or rainbow trout) (4 VAC 15-330-190, Virginia Administrative
Code) which can be sold for any purpose, with the exception of bait as stated below. Gamefish
species authorized for holding and for sale as outlined above, include trout (including all
Salmonidae), all of the sunfish family (including largemouth bass, smallmouth bass and spotted
bass, rock bass, bluegill and crappie), walleye, white bass, chain pickerel, muskellunge and
northern pike (4 VAC 15-320-40, Virginia Administrative Code) (§29.1-100, Code of Virginia).

2. Fish in these facilities cannot originate from state waters. They must be artificially raised and reside in
privately owned, non-public facilities.

3. Holding and stocking of striped bass or hybrid striped bass are not covered under this permit. A permit
must be obtained from the Virginia Marine Resources Commission.

4. Any Largemouth Bass/sunfish sold under this permit must be dead at the time of sale. Selling live fish
for stocking requires an aquaculture permit.

B. Possession Limits: Privately owned facilities may possess and sell unlimited quantities when possession is
accompanied by a valid invoice or bill of sale from an individual permitted by this
Department or from a properly permitted aquaculture facility in Virginia or out-of-state.

C. Exceptions and Restrictions:
1. Sunfish Catch-out Ponds (no fishing license required) $50.00
a. Largemouth bass (black bass) and other members of the sunfish family fishing ponds shall have a
continuous open season for taking sunfish in any department authorized commercially operated
fishing ponds without creel or hours restricted. (§29.1-531.D., Code of Virginia; 4 VAC 15-330-10,
Virginia Administrative Code)

b. The operator of a largemouth bass (black bass) and other members of the sunfish family fishing
pond shall be required to furnish each fisherman taking sunfish therein a bill of sale, which shall
include the name of the fisherman, date, species and number of sunfish creeled. The fisherman shall
retain this bill of sale as long as the fish are in his possession and a duplicate thereof shall remain
with the operator of the commercially operated fishing pond and be made available for inspection
by all authorized department personnel (4 VAC 15-330-180, Virginia Administrative Code).

9/29/2020



c. Public waters may not be used as a catch-out-pond. If a person wants to stock a stream and charge
people to fish, he needs a Fish Stocking Authorization Letter from a Regional Fisheries Biologist.
The customers must go by the state length and creel limits and have a fishing license. They do not
need a trout license if the area of stream is not designated stocked water.

D. Term of Permit: Permits are issued for a one-year period beginning January 1% and expiring December 31
(8§29.1-413, Code of Virginia). All permits will expire December 31%, regardless of date of
issuance. Permit fees are not prorated. It shall be the responsibility of the permittee to initiate
any and all renewals.

E. Inspections: Authorized representatives of the Virginia Department of Wildlife Resources may make periodic
inspections of the facility and stocks of each operation and permittee shall allow such inspections
at any reasonable time.

F. Record Keeping: Permittees shall maintain detailed records which shall include an account of sales by date,
purchaser, species and number or poundage sold. Records and receipts shall be retained by
permittee for a period of one year.

G. Annual Report Requirement: An Annual Report is required for all transactions involving largemouth bass
(black bass) and other members of the sunfish family. Reports are due on
December 31

H. Compliance/Violation/Revocation:

1. 4 VAC 15-290-130 of the Virginia Administrative Code requires that a permit holder shall comply with
all terms and conditions of any permit issued by the Department of Wildlife Resources pursuant to Title
29.1 of the Code of Virginia and the regulations of the board pertaining to hunting, fishing, trapping,
attempting to take, possession, sale, offering for sale, transporting or causing to be transported, importing
or exporting, propagating, exhibiting, and rehabilitating of any wild bird, wild animal or fish. The penalty
for violation of this section is a Class 3 misdemeanor unless another penalty is specified. Further, any
violation of state or federal wildlife laws related to the permitted activities by the permittee, his/her agents
or employees, or guests will constitute a violation of the conditions of the permit.

2. Asprovided by 4 VAC 15-30-5 of the Virginia Administrative Code, failure to comply with the provisions
of a permit may result in the revocation or suspension of the permit for a period up to but not to exceed
five (5) years. Any person whose permit is revoked, or suspended may appeal that decision in writing, to
the Executive Director, Virginia Department of Wildlife Resources, P. O. Box 3337, Henrico, VA 23228.

I. Federal, State, or Local Laws: This permit does not absolve the permittee of any responsibilities or

conditions of any other Federal, State, or Local laws and regulations,
including those that apply to Threatened/Endangered (T&E) Species.

9/29/2020



VIRGINIA DEPARTMENT OF WILDLIFE RESOURCES
ANNUAL REPORTING FORM FOR POSSESSING, PROPAGATING, BUYING, AND/OR SELLING
OF LARGEMOUTH BASS (BLACK BASS) AND OTHER MEMBERS OF THE SUNFISH FAMILY

Report Due Date is December 31%

NAME: VDWR PERMIT #
ADDRESS:
TELEPHONE #
NUMBER OF PONDS TOTAL ACREAGE OF PONDS
SALES OF LARGEMOUTH BASS (BLACK BASS) AND OTHER MEMBERS OF THE SUNFISH FAMILY
COMMON NAME NUMBER SOLD POUNDS SOLD

Largemouth Bass

Smallmouth Bass

Bluegill

Black Crappie
SIGNATURE: DATE:

RETURN TO: Virginia Department of Wildlife Resources

9/29/2020

Permits Section
P. O. Box 3337
Henrico, VA 23228
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VIRGINIA DEPARTMENT OF WILDLIFE RESOURCES

APPLICATION FOR PERMIT TO POSSESS, PROPAGATE, BUY AND SELL LARGEMOUTH BASS (BLACK BASS) AND OTHER MEMBERS OF THE SUNFISH FAMILY IN VIRGINIA (24 – SUNF)

 (Under Authority of § 29.1-412, and 417 of the Code of Virginia, and 4 VAC 15-360 of the Virginia Administrative Code)

Permit Period is January 1st through December 31st (or part thereof)



Non-refundable Application Fee:  $50.00



Permit (Check One): ____ NEW ____ RENEWAL                   Previous VDWR Permit #.____________



____Mr. ____Mrs. ____Ms. ____Miss.



Name of Applicant ________________________________________________________________________



Address _________________________________________________________________________________



__________________ ________ _____________    County ______________________________________

City		             State	        Zip



Phone Number _________________________   Email ___________________________________	___



Date of Birth                               Last four of SSN 		Last 4 of Drivers’ Lic# 				



Business Name ___________________________________________________________________________



Business Address_________________________________________________________________________________



____________________  ________  _____________      __________________________________________

City		        	      State	Zip		        County



Phone Number ______________________



Name and location (e911 address-no P.O. Box) of facility if different from above, where animal(s) will be sold:



__________________________________________________________________County________________



Type of business: 



SN	[     ] Largemouth bass (black bass) and other members of the sunfish family catch-out pond ($50.00) [Fishing license not required]. Permit required only if fish are being sold by weight (e.g. by the pound)

Annual Report Required













The following captive-bred species may be held and sold by SN for human consumption and for use in catch-out ponds.

[     ] Largemouth bass (black bass) and other members of the sunfish family (List specific species with Common Name & Scientific Name). *Selling live fish for stocking requires a Hold and Sell Certain Fish, Snakes, Snapping Turtles and Hellgrammites for Sale Permit.





Common Name						Scientific Name		



__________________________________________ 	_____________________________________



__________________________________________ 	_____________________________________



__________________________________________ 	_____________________________________



__________________________________________ 	_____________________________________



__________________________________________ 	_____________________________________



__________________________________________ 	_____________________________________



__________________________________________ 	_____________________________________



__________________________________________ 	_____________________________________





Applicant signature ____________________________________   Date__________________________

By my signature above, I hereby certify that all entries made on this application are true and complete, and I agree and understand that any falsification of information herein, regardless of time of discovery, may result in denial or revocation of my permit. TYPED SIGNATURE IS AUTHORIZED AND BINDING PER CODE OF VIRGINIA §59.1, CHAPTER 42.1, ET SEQ.



	Make non-refundable application fee check payable to: Treasurer of Virginia and return to:

	Virginia Department of Wildlife Resources, Permits Section, P. O. Box 3337, Henrico, VA 23228































VIRGINIA DEPARTMENT OF WILDLIFE RESOURCES

PERMIT TO POSSESS, PROPAGATE, BUY AND SELL LARGEMOUTH BASS (BLACK BASS) AND OTHER MEMBERS OF THE SUNFISH FAMILY IN VIRGINIA

PERMIT CONDITIONS



As provided for in § 29.1-412 and 417 of the Code of Virginia, and 4 VAC 15-360 of the Virginia Administrative Code, the permit shall be required by any person or establishment which sells for the specified purposes any of the species listed below in subsection "A" (catch-out ponds, or for human consumption).



A. Permitted Species:

1. Game fish (sunfish)

Gamefish can only be held and sold for stocking private ponds (without Department stocking authorization per 4 VAC 15-320-60 of the Virginia Administrative Code) with the exception of trout (brown trout, brook trout, or rainbow trout) (4 VAC 15-330-190, Virginia Administrative Code) which can be sold for any purpose, with the exception of bait as stated below. Gamefish species authorized for holding and for sale as outlined above, include trout (including all Salmonidae), all of the sunfish family (including largemouth bass, smallmouth bass and spotted bass, rock bass, bluegill and crappie), walleye, white bass, chain pickerel, muskellunge and northern pike (4 VAC 15-320-40, Virginia Administrative Code) (§29.1-100, Code of Virginia).



2. Fish in these facilities cannot originate from state waters. They must be artificially raised and reside in privately owned, non-public facilities.



3. Holding and stocking of striped bass or hybrid striped bass are not covered under this permit. A permit must be obtained from the Virginia Marine Resources Commission.



4. Any Largemouth Bass/sunfish sold under this permit must be dead at the time of sale. Selling live fish for stocking requires an aquaculture permit.



B. Possession Limits: Privately owned facilities may possess and sell unlimited quantities when possession is accompanied by a valid invoice or bill of sale from an individual permitted by this Department or from a properly permitted aquaculture facility in Virginia or out-of-state.



C. Exceptions and Restrictions:

1.  Sunfish Catch-out Ponds (no fishing license required) $50.00

		a. Largemouth bass (black bass) and other members of the sunfish family fishing ponds shall have a continuous open season for taking sunfish in any department authorized commercially operated fishing ponds without creel or hours restricted. (§29.1-531.D., Code of Virginia; 4 VAC 15-330-10, Virginia Administrative Code)



b. The operator of a largemouth bass (black bass) and other members of the sunfish family fishing pond shall be required to furnish each fisherman taking sunfish therein a bill of sale, which shall include the name of the fisherman, date, species and number of sunfish creeled. The fisherman shall retain this bill of sale as long as the fish are in his possession and a duplicate thereof shall remain with the operator of the commercially operated fishing pond and be made available for inspection by all authorized department personnel (4 VAC 15-330-180, Virginia Administrative Code).



c. Public waters may not be used as a catch-out-pond. If a person wants to stock a stream and charge people to fish, he needs a Fish Stocking Authorization Letter from a Regional Fisheries Biologist. The customers must go by the state length and creel limits and have a fishing license. They do not need a trout license if the area of stream is not designated stocked water.



D. Term of Permit: Permits are issued for a one-year period beginning January 1st and expiring December 31st (§29.1-413, Code of Virginia). All permits will expire December 31st, regardless of date of issuance. Permit fees are not prorated. It shall be the responsibility of the permittee to initiate any and all renewals.



E. Inspections: Authorized representatives of the Virginia Department of Wildlife Resources may make periodic inspections of the facility and stocks of each operation and permittee shall allow such inspections at any reasonable time.



F. Record Keeping: Permittees shall maintain detailed records which shall include an account of sales by date, purchaser, species and number or poundage sold. Records and receipts shall be retained by permittee for a period of one year.



G. Annual Report Requirement: An Annual Report is required for all transactions involving largemouth bass (black bass) and other members of the sunfish family. Reports are due on December 31st.



H. Compliance/Violation/Revocation:

1. 4 VAC 15-290-130 of the Virginia Administrative Code requires that a permit holder shall comply with all terms and conditions of any permit issued by the Department of Wildlife Resources pursuant to Title 29.1 of the Code of Virginia and the regulations of the board pertaining to hunting, fishing, trapping, attempting to take, possession, sale, offering for sale, transporting or causing to be transported, importing or exporting, propagating, exhibiting, and rehabilitating of any wild bird, wild animal or fish. The penalty for violation of this section is a Class 3 misdemeanor unless another penalty is specified. Further, any violation of state or federal wildlife laws related to the permitted activities by the permittee, his/her agents or employees, or guests will constitute a violation of the conditions of the permit.



2. As provided by 4 VAC 15-30-5 of the Virginia Administrative Code, failure to comply with the provisions of a permit may result in the revocation or suspension of the permit for a period up to but not to exceed five (5) years. Any person whose permit is revoked, or suspended may appeal that decision in writing, to the Executive Director, Virginia Department of Wildlife Resources, P. O. Box 3337, Henrico, VA 23228.



[bookmark: _GoBack]I. Federal, State, or Local Laws: This permit does not absolve the permittee of any responsibilities or conditions of any other Federal, State, or Local laws and regulations, including those that apply to Threatened/Endangered (T&E) Species.




VIRGINIA DEPARTMENT OF WILDLIFE RESOURCES

ANNUAL REPORTING FORM FOR POSSESSING, PROPAGATING, BUYING, AND/OR SELLING OF LARGEMOUTH BASS (BLACK BASS) AND OTHER MEMBERS OF THE SUNFISH FAMILY

Report Due Date is December 31st



NAME: _______________________________________________ VDWR PERMIT #_______________



ADDRESS: __________________________________________________________________________



_______________________________________________TELEPHONE #________________________



NUMBER OF PONDS ___________TOTAL ACREAGE OF PONDS ___________________________



SALES OF LARGEMOUTH BASS (BLACK BASS) AND OTHER MEMBERS OF THE SUNFISH FAMILY

		

      COMMON NAME                        

		

           NUMBER SOLD                     POUNDS SOLD



		

Largemouth Bass

		



		





		

Smallmouth Bass

		



		





		

Bluegill

		



		





		

Black Crappie

		



		





		





		



		





		





		



		





		





		



		













SIGNATURE: ________________________________________________DATE:_____________________



                    RETURN TO: 	Virginia Department of Wildlife Resources

	Permits Section 

			       P. O. Box 3337

       Henrico, VA   23228
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