Skip to Main Content

Restrictions on Dangerous Python & Anaconda Species


Albino Burmese python. Photo by Caroline Seitz.

(Updated as of September 2017)

The eight large non-native snakes shown have been added to the list of injurious species barred from transport between the Continental United States, Hawaii, District of Columbia, and U.S. Territories, and barred from import from other countries, under the Lacey Act. However, a recent D.C. Circuit Court ruling currently allows the interstate transport of these species between states that are within the Continental United States.

  • Python molurus (which includes Burmese python [Python molurus bivittatus] and Indian python [Python molurus molurus])
  • Northern African python (Python sebae)
  • Southern African python (Python natalensis)
  • Yellow anaconda (Eunectes notaeus)
  • Reticulated Python (Python reticulatus, Broghammerus reticulatus, or Malayopython reticulatus)
  • DeSchauensee’s Anaconda (Eunectes deschauenseei)
  • Green Anaconda (Eunectes murinus)
  • Beni Anaconda (Eunectes beniensis)

These species have been restricted by the U.S. Fish and Wildlife Service to prevent the accidental or intentional introduction of, and the possible subsequent establishment of populations of, these snakes in the wild in the United States.